Meeting Minutes May 6, 2023

Members Present: Brenda Robertson Walter Martin Mark Fleming Steven Peters Chris Farrell joined by Zoom Natalie Wright joined by Zoom

Meeting was called to order at 8:30

Mark Fleming made a motion to adopt the agenda; Walter Martin seconded it. The Board voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.

Brenda Robertson made a motion to adopt all the previous minutes; Steven Peters seconded it. The Board voted unanimously to adopt the minutes.

Walter Martin read the Mission statement.

Mark Fleming made a motion to approve the consent items; Walter Martin seconded it. The Board voted unanimously to approve the consent items.

Chairman Sara Struhs introduced the newest candidate as a Board member, Natalie Wright.

Harry Kaplan and Amanda Falukenbury gave the Board a legislative update. They feel optimistic about H618 which will create the Charter School Review Board and believes this will be favorable for all charter schools including NCVA. Our bill, H149, will be a leverage bill as the legislature goes into the budget process. Overall, they are keeping their eyes on the bill that could increase our enrollment; however, they were surprised and pleased that our letter was approved by the SBE increasing our enrollment to 3100 for school year 2023-24,

Katie Gomersall, HOS, gave a report highlighting the following:

- Recognition for Paige Adams for her achievement as the recipient of the first ever McKinney-Vento advocate award winner. This is for outstanding work on behalf of the McKinney-Vento families in our school. She will be traveling to other school districts and states to share her best practices.
- Update on the lottery revealed that we did not have a huge increase in new students because we had a very large student return rate opening only approximately 200 seats. We will maintain a large waitlist because of this.
- 3) Update on CTE courses and working with the Gaylor project. We will offer several CTE courses and continue to work with Gaylor to connect our students located within the Gaylor area to take advantage of exploring a possible career as an electrician.

- 4) Update on EOG testing.
- 5) Katie congratulated Jillian Davenport and Sheri Howarth on being selected for Administrator of the Year and Teacher of the Year respectively. Sheri Howarth will be forwarded to NCDPI to be considered Teacher of the Year for NC.

We moved forward to discuss the selection of next year's Executive Committee Members. The following were proposed: Brenda Robertson as Chairman of the Board Walter Martin as Vice Chairman of the Board Dr. Steven Peters as Treasurer Mark Fleming as Secretary

ACTION ITEMS:

A motion was made and seconded to elect Natalie Wright to the NCVA School Board. The vote was unanimously in favor of this motion.

A motion was made and seconded to accept the resignation of Sara Struhs as Chairman of the Board. The vote was unanimously in favor of this motion.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the new Board officers. The vote was unanimously in favor of this motion.

A motion was made and seconded to hire Sara Struhs as the new Executive Director for NCVA. The vote was unanimously in favor of this motion.

A motion was made and seconded to approve paying the finance bill. The vote was unanimously in favor of this motion.

Sara Struhs thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve as the Executive Director.

A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting. The vote was unanimously in favor of this motion.